History of the Staudacherhofs

...more than 100 years Staudacherhof

The Staudacher family's history bases on a long tradition of wine with its roots in the Tyrolean region of Austria. Johann Staudacher, Peter Staudacher's great-grandfather, managed the Römisch-Deutscher Kaiser Inn in Stams/Mötz around 1880, where illustrious personages like former Emperor Franz Josef liked to stop in.

Johann's wife, who worked in restaurants herself, was also accustomed to dealing with nobility. In their estate, Fernstein Castle (formerly a toll place of the Fugger dynasty, today Fernpass), she waited on King Ludwig IInd of Bavaria, who would stop in the Fernstein Inn every so often, something he especially liked to do in the wintertime in his sleigh on the way back from Linderhof Castle. 
Franz-Josef Staudacher, Johann's son, married the daughter of an innkeeper from Garmisch and bought a beautiful villa there. As more and more city dwellers came to Garmisch as a summer resort, the decorative estate was converted into a guesthouse. Staudacherhof was born.


Their son, Josef, and his wife, Anna, managed the hospitable domicile up until 1965, even though they had to overcome the most severe of hardships during World War II.  Among these, the house was confiscated as a home for infants, for Hitler's "Child Land Dispatch" program and as a dwelling that refugees were forcibly placed in.  In 1965, they passed it on to their son, Franz-Josef, and his wife, Ursula, who developed the family-owned guesthouse into the current 4-Star Superior Wellness Residence. Their son, Peter, and his wife, Dagmar, began continuing the rich tradition in late 2008. And of course, everyone hopes that the youngest members of the family will also follow in their parent's footsteps one day.


1Spalter | Bildbreite 595 Pixel

Online Buchung

More Delight

You are a little Gourmet and love to indulge in gourmet cuisine and be pampered? Then Staudacherhof is just the right place!





We are very gladly available to you for possible questions!

Staudacherhof ****s-Wellnessurlaub Bayern-Wohlfühlhotel-Verwöhnhotel
Höllentalstrasse 48, D-82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Tel:+49 (0) 8821 9290 Fax:+49 (0) 8821 929333
info@staudacherhof.de, www.staudacherhof.de

Die Geschichte des Staudacherhofs

...seit über 100 Jahre Staudacherhof

Die Geschichte der Familie Staudacher gründet auf einer langen Wirtetradition, deren Wurzeln im österreichischen Tirol liegen. Johann Staudacher, der Ururgroßvater von Peter Staudacher, bewirtschaftete um 1880 den Gasthof „Römisch-Deutscher Kaiser“ in Stams/Mötz, in dem auch große Persönlichkeiten wie der einstige Kaiser Franz Josef gerne einkehrten.

Auch Johanns Ehefrau, selbst in der Gastronomie tätig, war im Umgang mit Hoheiten geübt. Im Besitztum Schloss Fernstein (früher eine Mautstelle der Fugger, heute Fernpass) bewirtete sie König Ludwig II. von Bayern, der des Öfteren – besonders gern zur Winterszeit mit seinem Schlitten von Schloss Linderhof kommend – im Fernsteiner Gasthof einkehrte.

Franz-Josef Staudacher, Johanns Sohn, heiratete eine Wirtstochter aus Garmisch und kaufte dort 1907 eine herrliche Villa. Als immer mehr Städter zur Sommerfrische nach Garmisch kamen, wurde das schmucke Anwesen zur Pension umgebaut. Der Staudacherhof war geboren.

Ihr Sohn Josef und dessen Ehefrau Anna führten das gastliche Domizil bis zum Jahre 1965, obwohl sie während des 2. Weltkrieges schwerste Hürden zu nehmen hatten. U.a. wurde das Haus als Säuglingsheim beschlagnahmt, zur Kinderlandverschickung benutzt und Zwangseinweisungen von Flüchtlingen vorgenommen. 1965 übergaben sie es dann ihrem Sohn Franz-Josef und seiner Ehefrau Ursula, die die Familienpension zum heutigen 4-Sterne Superior Hotel zum Wohlfühlen und Genießen etablierten. Sohn Peter und dessen Frau Dagmar schreiben die traditionsreiche Geschichte seit Ende 2008 fort. Und alle hoffen natürlich, dass die jüngsten Familienmitglieder auch einmal in die Fußstapfen Ihrer Eltern treten.


1Spalter | Bildbreite 595 Pixel

Online Buchung

Sehenswürdigkeiten um Garmisch

Viel zu entdecken gibt es rund um den Staudacherhof: Schloss Neuschwanstein, Partnachklamm, Königshaus am Schachen, Zugspitze, Burgruine Werdenfels, Olympia Skisprungschanze...





Für eventuelle Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung!

Staudacherhof ****s-Wellnessurlaub Bayern-Wohlfühlhotel-Verwöhnhotel
Höllentalstrasse 48, D-82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Tel:+49 (0) 8821 9290 Fax:+49 (0) 8821 929333
info@staudacherhof.de, www.staudacherhof.de